Saturday, August 22, 2009

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna (RGKR) is India’s highest honour given for achievement in sports
  • "Khel Ratna" literally translate to "Sports Gem" in Hindi.
  • award is named after the late Rajiv Gandhi, former Prime Minister of India.
  • cash component stands at Rs. 500,000/- (c.11,500 USD)
  • The award was instituted in the year 1991-92 to supply the lack of a supreme national accolade in the field of sports. Predating the RGKR are the Arjuna awards that have always been given to outstanding sportspersons in each of many sporting disciplines every year.
  • A selection committee consisting of eminent people affiliated to sports is constituted every year by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports to evaluate sporting performances.
  • performance between April 1 of one year to March 31 of the next year is considered. To qualify for this award, a sportsperson or team must take part in discipline that is included in the Olympic Games, the Asian Games or the Commonwealth Games.
  • A person can receive this award only once in his lifetime
  • must be nominated for the award by a member of parliament, state governments, the Sports Authority of India or national sports federations.
  • nominee is invested with the award by the President of India.

List of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardees

S.No. Year Name of the Sportsperson(s) Sport Discipline
01 1991-92 Viswanathan Anand Chess
02 1992-93 Geet Sethi Billiards
03 1993-94 Not Conferred* -
04 1994-95 Cdr. Homi D. Motivala and Lt. Cdr. P. K. Garg Yachting (Team Event)
05 1995-96 Karnam Malleswari Weightlifting
06 1996-97 Leander Paes and Nameirakpam Kunjarani (Joint) Tennis and Weightlifting respectively
07 1997-98 Sachin Tendulkar Cricket
08 1998-99 Jyotirmoyee Sikdar Athletics
09 1999-2000 Dhanraj Pillay Hockey
10 2000-01 Pullela Gopichand Badminton
11 2001-02 Abhinav Bindra Shooting
12 2002-03 Anjali Ved Pathak Bhagwat and K. M. Beenamol (Joint) Shooting and Athletics respectively
13 2003-04 Anju Bobby George Athletics
14 2004-05 Lt. Col Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Shooting
15 2005-06 Pankaj Advani Billiards and Snooker
16 2006-07 Manavjit Singh Sandhu Shooting
17 2007-08 Mahendra Singh Dhoni Cricket
18 2008-09 Mary Kom,Sushil Kumar,Vijender Kumar Boxing, Wrestling, Boxing
  • The award was not conferred upon any sportsperson or team in the year 1993-94.

Blog Archive