Saturday, May 8, 2010



Indian diary

Edwin S. Montagu (Secretary of State for India, 1917-1922)

Arctic Home of Vedas

Bal G. Tilak(great leader as "Father of the Indian unrest )

Problems of East

Lord Curzon( Viceroy of India, 1898-1906

Indian Mussalmans

W.W.Hunter( British scholar and civil servant)

The People

Lala Lajpat Rai {popularly known as Punjab Kesari (The Caesar of Punjab)}

India Today

RP Dutt

The Audacity of Hope

Barack Obama( President of USA)

In Custody, Fire on the Mountain

Anita Desai (was awarded the Sahitya Akademi Award, in 1978 for her novel, "Fire on the Mountain" , by the Sahitya Akademi, India's National Academy of Letters )

Sea of Poppies, The Glass Palace

Amitav Ghosh ( Indian Bengali Writer)

The Argumentative Indian

Amartya Sen {He is known as "the Conscience of Economics", won Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences(1998)
Bharat Ratna (1999)}

Unaccustomed Earth

Jhumpa Lahiri (an Indian American author, won the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, and her first novel, The Namesake (2003), was adapted into the popular film of the same name)

Debi Chaudhurani

Bankimchandra (novelist, essayist and journalist, most famous as the author of Vande Mataram)

Nil- Darpan

Dinabandhu Mitra (the Bengali dramatist)

Shatranj je khilari

Premchand (he foremost Hindi-Urdu writer during the early twentieth century

Midnight’s Children

Salman Rushdie(British-Indian novelist and essayist, won the Booker Prize in 1981)

In a Free State

V.S. Naipaul {AwardS:Booker Prize
(1971), Nobel Prize in Literature(2001)}

Staying on (won the Booker Prize for 1977.)

Paul Scott(British novelist, playwright, and poet best known for his monumental tetralogy the Raj Quartet)

The Siege of Krishnapur (won the 1973 Booker Prize.)

J.G. Farrell (other books: Troubles, The Siege of Krishnapur and The Singapore Grip)

The Future of India

Bimal Jalan(a former Governor of India's Reserve Bank and a nominated member of the Upper House of India's Parliament, the Rajya Sabha during 2003-2009)

An Ordinary Person’s Guide to Empire

Arundhati Roy(She won the Booker Prize in 1997 for her novel, The God of Small Things)

Confessions of a Secular Fundamentalist

Mani Shankar Aiyar (a former Indian diplomat who resigned from the foreign service and became a politician working for Rajiv Gandhi in 1989-1991. He is a member of the Indian National Congress party and was Panchayati Raj Minister until he lost his seat in the 2009 Election)

My Presidential Years

R.Venkataraman(eighth President of India)

The Hindu View of Life

S. Radhakrishnan {second President of India(1962–1967)}

Voice of Conscience

V.V,Giri( fourth President of India 1969-74)

Without Fear of Favour

N.Sanjiva Reddy ( sixth President of India 1977-82)

Bookmark and Share

Blog Archive