Sunday, December 13, 2009

  1. Field hockey (sometimes referred to as simply hockey) was introduced at the Summer Olympic Games as a men's competition at the 1908 Games in London, with six teams, including four from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland.
  2. Hockey was removed from the Olympics at the 1924 Paris Games due to the lack of an international sporting structure.
  3. The game is played between two teams of up to sixteen players, eleven of whom are permitted to be on the pitch at any one time. The remaining five players, the substitutes, may be substituted in any combination, from one to five, an unlimited number of times in the course of a game. Substitutions are permitted at any point in the game, apart from between the award and end of a penalty corner; the only exception to this rule is for injury or suspension of the defending goalkeeper.
  4. There are no fixed positions (even a goalkeeper is not required under the 2007-2008 rules), but most teams arrange themselves (in a similar way to Association football teams) into fullbacks (defence), midfielders(halfback) and forwards (front line). Many teams include a single sweeper. The rules do not specify a minimum number of players for a match to take place, but most competitions have some local ruling on this, with seven players being a common minimum.

  5. File:Hockey field.svg
  6. Field hockey is the national game of India.
  7. The Indian Hockey Federation was the Indian branch of the International Hockey Federation. In April, 2008, Kandaswamy Jothikumaran, the IHF's Secretary General, resigned after a television show accused him of corruption. K. P. S. Gill, IHF chief for 14 years, lost his position when the Indian Hockey Federation was suspended by the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) on April 28.
  8. The Indian Olympic Association appointed a new five-member national selection committee. This panel will work in conjunction with the International Field Hockey Federation in managing hockey in India. The panel was headed by Aslam Sher Khan, a former MP and former hockey captain and includes Ashok Kumar, Ajit Pal Singh, Zafar Iqbal and Dhanraj Pillay. Aslam Sher Khan has now been replaced by Ajit Pal Singh as the chairman of the national selection committee. Aslam Sher Khan was highly displeased by this decision, though he remained as a selector.
  9. The Indian Hockey Team is the national men's field hockey team of India. It was the first non-European team to be a part of the International Hockey Federation. In 1928, the team won its first Olympic gold medal. From 1928 to 1956, the Indian men's team remained unbeaten in the Olympics, garnering six gold medals in a row. The Indian team has won a total of eight gold, one silver and two bronze medals in Olympics.
  10. On 9 March 2008, India lost 2-0 to Britain at Santiago, Chile in the final of one of the three qualifying tournaments for the Beijing Olympics. With only the winner advancing to the 12-team event, the Indian men's team was eliminated from the Beijing Olympics competition. This is the first time that the Indian men's team did not participate in the Olympics since 1928.
  11. The Indian Women's Hockey Team is the national women's team representing field hockey in India. Captain Suraj Lata Devi led the team to the Gold for three consecutive years: during the 2002 Commonwealth Games (the event which inspired the 2007 Bollywood hit film, Chak De India), the 2003 Afro-Asian Games, and the 2004 Hockey Asia Cup. They were referred to as the "Jassi (Jasjeet) jaisi koi nahi" or "Golden girls of hockey," after winning the 2004 Hockey Asia Cup.

Blog Archive