Saturday, September 26, 2009

Eleven scientist were selected for 2009 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for science and technology on the occasion of CSIR Foundation Day celebration here today at Vigyan Bhawan. Their names discipline-wise are as under:
Biological Sciences

1.       Dr Amitabh Joshi, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Banglore.
2.       Dr Bhaskar Saha, National Centre for Cell Science, Pune.

Chemical Sciences

1.       Dr Charusita chakravarty, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, New Delhi.
2.       Dr Narayanaswamy Jayaraman, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean & Planetary Sciences

1.       Dr S K Satheesh, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Engineering Sciences

1.     Dr Giridhar Madras, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
2.     Dr Jayant Ramaswamy Haritsa, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Mathematical Sciences

1.     Dr Venapally Suresh, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad

Medical Sciences

1.     Dr Santosh Gajanan Honavar, L V Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad

Physical Sciences

1.     Dr Rajesh Gopakumar, Harish-Chandra research Institute, Allahabad
2.     Dr Abhishek Dhar, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore

The Bhatnagar Prizes are given to scientists below 45 years of age, for their outstanding scientific contributions made primarily in India during the last 5 years preceding the year of the Prize. The SSB Prize comprises a citation, a plaque and a cash award of Rs.5,00,000/- (Rupees five lakh only), and are given to the recipients by the Prime Minister of India.


Blog Archive