Sunday, September 27, 2009

Indian commissions
Balwant Rai Mehta Committee

The Government of India appointed a committee in January 1957 to examine the working of the Community Development Programme(1952) and the National Extension Service(1953) and to suggest measures for their better working. The Chairman of this committee was Balwantrai G Mehta. The committee submitted its report in November 1957 and recommended the establishment of the scheme of 'democratic decentralisation' which finally came to be known as Panchayati Raj.
The specific recommendations of the committee are:
1. Establishment of a 3-tier Panchayati Raj system-Gram Panchayat at the village level, Panchayat Samiti at the block level, and Zila Parishad at the district level. These tiers should be organically linked through a device of indirect elections.
Ashok Mehta Committee

In December 1977, the Janata Government appointed a committee on Panchayati Raj.
The main recommendations of the committee are:
1. The 3-tier system of Panchayati Raj should be replaced by the 2-tier system: Zilla Parishad at the district level, and below it,the Mandal Panchayat consisting of a group of villages covering a population of 15000 to 20000.
Shah Nawaz Committee

The Shah Nawaz Committee was an enquiry committee established in 1956 to investigate the controversies surrounding the supposed death of Indian war time leader Subhas Chandra Bose in August 1945. The Committee included Shah Nawaz Khan and also included A C Moitra and Suresh Chandra Bose. The committee was appointed in December 1955 and began its work in April the next year. It submitted its report in July 1956. However, the committee was notable in two of the members, Moitra and Bose, submitting was has since come to be called the "Dissident Report" that differed from the official report of the committee submitted by Khan to the Indian Government.
Khosla Commission

The Khosla Commission was a one-man commission headed by Justice GD Khosla that was established in India in July 1970 to re-investigate the circumstances surrounding the supposed death of Indian war-time leader Subhas Chandra Bose. The commission sat for four years and submitted the G D Khosla Report, which reached the same conclusions as those reached by the Shah Nawaz Committee in 1956. However, the conclusions of these two reports have since been criticised as incorrect and questionable.
Mukherjee Commission

The Mukherjee Commission refers to the one-man board of Mr. Justice Manoj Mukherjee , a retired judge of the Supreme Court of India which was instituted in 1999 to enquire into the controversy surrounding the reported death of Subhas Chandra Bose in 1945.
Central Vigilance Commission

Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) is an apex Indian governmental body created in 1964 to address governmental corruption.
It was set up by the Government of India in February, 1964 on the recommendations of the Committee on Prevention of Corruption, headed by Shri K. Santhanam, to advise and guide Central Government agencies in the field of vigilance. Nittoor Srinivasa Rau, was selected as the first Chief Vigilance Commissioner of India.
Finance Commission of India

The Constitution of India provides for the establishment of a Finance Commission for the purpose of allocation of certain resources of revenue between the Union and the State Governments.The Finance Commission is established under Article 280 of the Constitution of India by the President.

Chairman: Vijay Kelkar 2010-2015
Indian Geophysical Union

The Indian Geophysical Union is the government of India's scientific body responsible for all activities related with Earth Science System such as such as seismology, magnetism, meteorology, geodesy, volcanology, oceanography, hydrology and tectonophysics and to encourage the study of and research in geophysical problems and to provide media for publication of the results. It is situated near another Geophysical Centre INCOIS Hyderabad.
Investment commission of India

The Investment commission of India is a three-member commission set up in the Ministry of Finance in December 2004 by the Government of India. Mr. Ratan Tata is Chairman and Mr. Deepak Parekh and Dr. Ashok Ganguly are members.
National Knowledge Commission

On 13th June, 2005 , the Prime Minister of India, Dr. Manmohan Singh, constituted the National Knowledge Commission, as a think-tank charged with considering possible policy that might sharpen India's comparative advantage in the knowledge-intensive service sectors.
In particular, the Commission was to advise the Prime Minister's Office on policy related to education, research institutes and reforms needed to make India competitive in the knowledge economy. The Commission was to recommend reform of the education sector, research labs, and intellectual property legislation; as well as consider whether the Government could itself upgrade its use of the latest techniques to make its workings more transparent.
The NKC website was launched in February 2006.
The National Knowledge Commission (NKC) consists of the following seven members.
Sam Pitroda, Chairman,
Ashok Ganguly, corporate leader
Nandan Nilekani, Infosys,
Dr. Deepak Nayyar, former Vice-chancellor, University of Delhi
Dr. Jayati Ghosh, economist at Jawaharlal Nehru University
Dr. Sujatha Ramadorai, TIFR Dr. P Balaram, Indian Institute of Science, Banglore


Blog Archive