Saturday, March 23, 2013

    Pierre Deligne winner of the 2013 Abel Prize.
  • Belgian mathematician Pierre Deligne, who is regarded as one of the most celebrated mathematicians of the 20th century, has been chosen for this year’s prestigious Abel Prize in Mathematics. 
  • The prize, which was given for the first time in 2003, recognises contributions of extraordinary depth and influence in mathematical sciences.
  •  The Abel Prize is considered equivalent to the Nobel Prize, which is not awarded in the field of mathematics. It carries a cash award of 6 million Norwegian krone (about €800,000 or $1 million).
  •  In awarding the prize to Professor Deligne, the committee noted: “Deligne’s powerful concepts, ideas, results and methods continue to influence the development of algebraic geometry as well as mathematics as a whole.”
  • In particular, his proofs (he gave two proofs!) of the Weil conjecture (and Ramanujan’s conjecture on the tau function as a consequence) stand out both for the beauty and insight that these proofs provided into the links between arithmetic and geometry.

The Abel Prize Laureates 2003-2012
2012: Endre Szemerédi

2011: John Milnor
2010: John Torrence Tate
2009: Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov 
2008: John Griggs Thompson 
          and Jacques Tits 
2007: Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan 
2006: Lennart Carleson 
2005: Peter D. Lax 
2004: Sir Michael Francis Atiyah 
          and Isadore M. Singer 
2003: Jean-Pierre Serre

Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan got the Abel Prize 
  • for his fundamental contributions to probability theory and in particular for creating a unified theory of large deviations.

Additional Reading context of India 

  • Infosys Prize has six categories Engineering and Computer Science, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences ,Social Sciences, Humanities. (Prize Rs. 50 Lakh)---Prof. Manjul Bhargava, of Princeton University got it in Mathematical Science in the year 2012.

Indian National Mathematical Olympiad

  • The Indian National Mathematical Olympiad (INMO) is an Olympiad in mathematics held in India.
  • It is the second tier in the process of selecting the six-member Indian team for the International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO)

Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) 

The Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) is an on-going National Program of Fellowships in Basic Sciences, initiated and funded by the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, to attract exceptionally and highly motivated students for pursuing basic science courses and career in research.The objectives of the program are to identify the students with talent and aptitude for research; help them realize their potential in their studies; encourage them to take up research careers in Science, and ensure the growth of the best scientific minds for research and development in the country.
The selection of students is from those studying in XI standard to 1st year of any undergraduate Program in Natural and Basic Sciences having aptitude for scientific research. 

There are special groups or committees set up at IISc, which screen the applications, conduct aptitude test at various centres. Based on the performance in the aptitude test, short-listed students are invited for an interview which is the final stage of the selection procedure. For receiving a fellowship, both aptitude test and interview are required.

Generous scholarships are provided up to the pre-Ph.D. level to the selected students.

Indian Mathematical Society (IMS)
  • Indian Mathematical Society (IMS) is the oldest organization in India devoted to the promotion of study and research in mathematics
  • The Society was founded in April 1907 by V. Ramaswamy Aiyer with its head-quarters at Pune. The Society started its activities under the name Analytic Club and the name was soon changed to Indian Mathematical Club
  • After the adoption of a new constitution in 1910, the society acquired its present name, namely, the Indian Mathematical Society. The first president of the Society was B. Hanumantha Rao.


First Indian mathematician to receive prize for history of mathematics at International Congress of Mathematacian 2010

  • Radha Charan Gupta is the first Indian to be awarded the Kenneth O. May Prize for the History of Mathematics. 
  • The award conferred upon Prof. Gupta at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) held in Hyderabad, India during 19–27 August 2010. 
  • Prof. Kim Plofker, a mathematical historian and the author of 'Mathematics in India',presentd the award to Prof. Gupta on behalf of the International Commission for the History of Mathematics

PM declares 2012 as 'National Mathematical Year' 

  • Declaring 2012 as the 'National Mathematical year' as a tribute to maths wizard Srinivasa Ramanujan, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Monday voiced concern over the "badly inadequate" number of competent mathematicians in the country.
  • 125th birth anniversary of Ramanujan
  • December 22, birthdate of Ramanujan has been declared as the 'national mathematics day'.
  • even Nigeria has agreed to observe this day. 

PM on Ramanujan 

The story of Ramanujan cannot be told without a mention of the Cambridge mathematician G. H. Hardy, who was responsible for Ramanujan getting the recognition that was his legitimate due. The parts that Hardy and Cambridge, which became Ramanujan's alma-mater, played in the great mathematician’s development represent the very best of the academic traditions of the West. The stories of the special relationship between G.H. Hardy and Ramanujan are a part of the folklore of mathematics. 


Blog Archive