Monday, January 25, 2010

Padma Awards 2010, Creator A R Rahman and screenland superstar Aamir Khan hit been titled for Padma Bhushan.
Eminent building personalities Zohra sculpturer and Ebrahim Alkazi and noted ‘mridangam’ Carnatic creator Umayalpuram K. Sivaraman are the another threesome chosen for Padma Vibhushan honor by the polity which, in all, titled 130 people, including 13 in the collection of foreigners, NRIs and PIOs. 43 are Padma Bhushan and 83 are Padma Shri.
Cricketer Virendra Sehwag, Hockey domestic Ignace Tirkey, Formula 1 utility Narain Kartikeyan, Badminton grapheme Saina Nehwal, Boxer Vijender Singh and Sachin Tendulkar’s ‘guru’ Ramakant Achrekar hit been designated for Padma Shri awards in sports category.
Among the Padma Bhushan awardees this assemblage are noted NRI hosteller Sant Singh Chatwal, high sawbones Satya Apostle Agarwal and high cardiac doc Ramakant Panda, who performed ‘beating heart’ surgery on Prime Minister Manmohan Singh terminal year.

Nobel laureate Venkatraman Ramakrishnan,
journalist Fareed Zakaria and 
hotelier Sant Singh Chatwal  
are among 13 foreigners, NRIs and people of Indian origin to be selected for this year's Padma awards.

Ramakrishnan, a structural biologist at the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology at Cambridge, in the UK, is the only one from the category to be selected for the second highest civilian award Padma Vibhushan in Science and Engineering.

Ramakrishnan, who deciphered the complicated functions of ribosomes in human body, won the Nobel prize for chemistry.

Editor of Newsweek international and author of several best sellers, including The Future of Freedom and The Post American World, US-based Fareed Zakaria is the only journalist to be selected for Padma Bhushan this year.

Hotel Magnate Sant Singh Chatwal, known as close confidante of the Clintons and their fundraiser, will also get Padma Bhushan in the Public Affairs category.

US-based Chatwal, who is Chairman of the Indian-American Democrats group, said, "I will continue to work painstakingly to make sure that I serve my country in the best possible way to ensure that India and the US remain friends."

Professor Tan Chung, one of the proponents for promoting Sino-India relations, has also been selected for Padma Bhushan this year in Literature and Education category. Considered an authority on Chinese history and Sino-Indian relations, 81-year old Chung had taught at JNU and Delhi University for many years. More

Professor at Stanford University Arogyaswami Joseph Paulraj, known for his outstanding contributions to the theory and practice in wireless communication, has also been selected for Padma Bhushan in Science and Engineering category.

Former Chief of FMCG-major Hindustan Lever Limited, 54-year old Manvinder Singh Banga is one of the recipients for this year's Padma Bhushan in Trade and Industry category.

German Indologist Professor Hermann Kulke who is a regular visiting faculty to various Indian universities and Sanskrit scholar at Columbia University Sheldon I Pollock have been selected for Padma Shree in the Literature and Education category.

Spaniard Rafael Iruzubieta Fernandez, Bahrain-based B Raveendran Pillai, US-based social worker Sudhir M Parikh, UAE-based Dr J R Gangaramani and US based scientist Ponisseril Somasundaran are other recipients of the Padma Shree awards.

Padma Vibhushan
The Padma Vibhushan is India's second highest civilian honour. It consists of a medal and a citation and is awarded by the President of India.

It is awarded to recognize exceptional and distinguished service to the nation in any field, including government service. The award was suspended between 1977 and 1980. No award was made between 1992 and 1998 as well.

The award was established by Presidential decree on 2 January 1954. It comes after the Bharat Ratna and before the Padma Bhushan. Padma Vibhushan was originally established as the Pahela Varg (First Class) of a three-class "Padma Vibhushan" awards. However the structure was changed in 1955 and there is no record of the award being presented to any of the recipients in the original structure.

Padma Bhushan

The Padma Bhushan award is an Indian civilian decoration established on January 2, 1954 by the President of India. It stands third in the hierarchy of civilian awards, after the Bharat Ratna and the Padma Vibhushan, but comes before the Padma Sri. It is awarded to recognize distinguished service of a high order to the nation, in any field.

Padma Shri

Padma Shri (also spelt Padma Shree, Padmashree, Padma Sree and Padma Sri) is an award given by the Government of India generally to Indian citizens to recognize their distinguished contribution in various spheres of activity including the Arts, Education, Industry, Literature, Science, Sports, Social Service and public life. (The word "Padma" (Sanskrit) means "Lotus".)

It stands fourth in the hierarchy of civilian awards after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan. On its obverse, the words "Padma" and "Shri", in Devanagari, appear above and below the lotus flower. The geometrical pattern on either side is in burnished bronze. All embossing is in white gold.

Blog Archive