Wednesday, September 22, 2010

The Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting, abbreviated to CHOGM, is a biennial summit meeting of the heads of government from all Commonwealth nations. Every two years the meeting is held in a different member state, and is chaired by that nation's respective Prime Minister or President, who becomes the Commonwealth Chairperson-in-Office. Recently, meetings have been attended by Queen Elizabeth II, who is the Head of the Commonwealth, although the Queen's formal appearance only began in 1997.
 The first CHOGM was held in 1971, and there have been twenty-one held in total: the most recent in Trinidad and Tobago in 2009. They are held once every two years, although this pattern has twice been interrupted. They are held around the Commonwealth, rotating by invitation amongst its members.

In India it was held in the year 1983 chaired by Indira Gandhi and in 2011 it is proposed to b held in Australia 
 The Commonwealth

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 54 countries that support each other and work together towards shared goals in democracy and development.

The world’s largest and smallest, richest and poorest countries make up the Commonwealth and are home to two billion citizens of all faiths and ethnicities – over half of whom are 25 or under. Member countries span six continents and oceans from Africa (19) to Asia (8), the Americas (2), the Caribbean (12), Europe (3) and the South Pacific (10). 
The Commonwealth, with roots as far back as the 1870s, believes that the best democracies are achieved through partnerships – of governments, business, and civil society. This unique association was reconstituted in 1949 when Commonwealth Prime Ministers met and adopted what has become known as the ‘London Declaration’ where it was agreed all member countries would be “freely and equally associated.”

Since then membership has continued to grow. The most recent members are Rwanda - which was admitted at the 2009 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting, Cameroon and Mozambique, which was the first country to join with no historical or administrative association with another Commonwealth country.
 Singapore Declaration
  Harare Commonwealth Declaration
The Singapore Declaration of Commonwealth Principles was a declaration issued by the assembled Heads of Government of theCommonwealth of Nations, setting out the core political values that would form the main part of the Commonwealth's membership criteria. The Declaration was issued in Singapore on 22 January 1971 at the conclusion of the first Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting(CHOGM).[1] Along with the Harare Declaration, issued in 1991, it is considered one of the two most important documents to the Commonwealth's uncodified constitution. 
The Harare Commonwealth Declaration was a declaration of the Commonwealth of Nations, setting out the Commonwealth's core principles and values, detailing the Commonwealth's membership criteria, and redefining and reinforcing its purpose. The Declaration was issued in HarareZimbabwe, on 20 October 1991, during the twelfth Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting.It reaffirmed the political principles laid out in the Singapore Declaration of twenty years before, and (along with the Singapore Declaration) is considered one of the two most important documents to the Commonwealth's uncodified constitution.  
Commonwealth Sports Ministers Meeting 2010

The 5th Commonwealth Sports Ministers Meeting will be held in Delhi, India, on 4 October 2010. 

The meeting will be chaired by Dr M. S. Gill, the Indian Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports, and the Commonwealth Secretary-General, Mr Kamalesh Sharma, will be in attendance.
Dr Gill issued invitations to the meeting on 5 May, 2010, and Mr Sharma sent a circular letter on 2 August, 2010.


Blog Archive