Wednesday, August 18, 2010


Nallathagudi Srinivasa Ramaswami  was an Indian sports journalist who worked for four decades with The HinduMail and Indian Express, and became an assistant editor at all three newspapers. He wrote four books oncricket — Winter of ContentIndian CricketIndian Willow and From Porbandar to Wadekar — but was by no measure yoked to that field: well-versed in history, social commentary and temple architecture, he indited tomes on each.

Gurunathan founded the annual Indian Cricket in 1946 on the same lines as the Wisden Cricketers' Almanack and remained its editor till his death. He also regularly contributed to the Indian section of the Wisden. He covered more than 50 Test matches including the Indian tours of Australia in 1947-48, England in 1952 and Pakistan in 1954-55, and reported the 1961-62 MCC tour of India for the Times. He authored the books 12 years of Ranji Trophy and three volumes of Story of the Tests. Gurunathan became the Founder-President of the Madras Sports Writers Club in 1963-64.

Gautam Bhattacharya, a sports journalist is presently Sports Editor of the Ananda Bazar Patrika. He joined  way back in 1983,January as a Trainee Journalist with The Telegraph(Kolkata) . He can be described as the first man to bring altogether a very different dimension to Sports Writing . He has created many milestones not only in sports but also in mainstream journalism. 

Harsha Bhogle is an Indian cricket commentator and journalist. He was born in a Marathi speaking family in Hyderabad.Bhogle has published and authored a number of books, including a biography of Mohammad Azharuddin and a collection of columns in The Indian ExpressOut of the Box - Watching the Game We Love and is also a columnist for the Chennai based "The Sportstar" a subsidiary of The Hindu group of Publications under the title "Hitting Hard" by Bhogle. (2009).
Rohit Brijnath is a veteran Indian sports journalist. Early in his career, Brijnath was a key member of the now-defunct weekly magazine Sportsworld, where he wrote alongside young journalists such as Mudar Patherya and Andy O'Brien. He has also worked for India Today and has written a recurring sports column for the BBC News website since 2004. He currently resides in Singapore, where he writes for the Straits Times. He also has a column called 'Game Theory' in the Indian publication 'Mint'. 

Vedam Jaishankar is an experienced cricket correspondent with a career spanning two decades during which he has travelled extensively and covered cricketing in six continents across the globe. Cricket has been an abiding passion with him and he has played school college and club cricket with a number of well known cricketers. He coached for a few years in the Brijesh Patel Cricket Academy before the demands of journalism made him give up coaching.  

K. Niran Prabhu (1923 – July 30, 2006) is a prominent Indian journalist who specialized in cricket.Most of his best work was done while working for the Times of India newspaper. He joined the ToI in 1948 and was the sports editor from 1959 to 1983. None of his works have been published as books.He was awarded the C. K. Nayudu Award for his contributions to cricket in 1998. 

Do u know?
Jamshed Khudadad (Jenni) Irani (August 18, 1923 – February 25, 1982) was a cricketer who represented India as a wicket-keeper in Test cricket.


Blog Archive