Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar (IGPP) Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar (IGPP) is an award instituted by the Ministry of Environment and Forests, Government of India in the year 1987, in order to encourage public participation in environment. It is awarded to individuals and organizations that have made significant and measurable contributions in the field of environment protection and improvement.The prize is presented every year on an occasion related to the environment.

Dr. Rachna Gaur
Isha Foundation, Coimbatore

Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award for Excellence in Public Administration, Academics and Management award is conferred by the Honorable President of India, at Rashtrapati Bhawan, each year in the first week of October - the birth anniversary of Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri. The Honour carries a Cash Award of Rs. One Lakh plus a citation and a plaque and the awardee is designated as Lal Bahadur Shastri Fellow.

Some of the past recipients of the A ward are: Prof. C.K. Prahalad, 1999; Shri Sam Pitroda, 2000; Shri N.R. Narayana Murthy, 2001; Dr. R.A. Mashelkar, 2002; Smt. Ela Ramesh Bhatt, 2003 and Shri C.P. Srivastava, 2004.

2008 Recepient---Delhi Metro Rail Corporation MD, E Shreedharan

Anandalok Awards Awards or Anandalok Puraskar ceremony is one of the most prominent film events given for Bengali Cinemas in India.The Anandalok, only film magazine in Bengali language, published from Ananda Publishers and Ananda Bazar Patrika presents this Award (Puraskar). The magazine was started on 25 January 1975 and the awards (Puraskar) ceremony was started in 1998.

Rajiv Gandhi National Quality Award 

SAIL's Bokaro Steel Plant----2008 Gandhi National Quality Award was instituted by the Bureau of Indian Standards in 1991, with a view to encouraging Indian manufacturing and service organizations to strive for excellence and giving special recognition to those who are considered to be the leaders of quality movement in India.   This award is intended to generate interest and involvement of Indian Industry in quality programmes, drive our products and services to higher levels of quality and equip our Industry to meet the challenges of domestic and International markets.
K.K. Birla Foundation 
The K.K. Birla Foundation was established in 1991 by Krishna Kumar Birla. Its mission is to promote literature (especially Hindi literature) and the arts, as well as education and social work. It regularly gets mentioned in the media for the awards it confers, includding:
  1. the Saraswati Samman (Rs 5 lakh) for prose/poetry work in any Indian language,
  2. the Vyas Samman (Rs 2.5 lakh) for prose/poetry work in Hindi,
  3. the Bihari Puraskar (Rs 1 lakh) for prose/poetry work in Hindi/Rajasthani, only authors from Rajasthan are eligible,
  4. the Shankar Puraskar (Rs 1.5 lakh) for a work in Hindi concerning Indian philosophy, culture and/or art,
  5. the Vachaspati Puraskar (Rs 1 lakh) for any work in Sanskrit,
  6. the G.D. Birla Award for scientific research (Rs 1.5 lakh).
Saraswati Samman 
The Saraswati Samman is an annual award for outstanding prose or poetry literary works in any Indian language. It is named after an Indian goddess of learning and is considered to be among the highest literary awards in India. It includes a monetary award of Rs five lakh (as of 2006). The Saraswati Samman was instituted in 1991 by the K. K. Birla Foundation.
Candidates are selected from literary works published in the previous ten years by a panel that included scholars and former award winners. The selected work must have been written in a language listed as an Indian language in the Indian Constitution.

  • 2008 - Lakshmi Nandan Bora for his novel Kayakalpa written in Assamese
  • 2009 - Surjit Paatar for Lafzan Di Dargah

Vyas Samman
The Vyas Samman is a literary award in India, first awarded in 1991 . It is awarded annually by the K.K. Birla Foundation Rs 2.5 lakh (as of 2005).
To be eligible for the award, the literary work must be in the Hindi language and have been published in the past 10 years.

Past winners
  • 2009 - AMAR KANTH for his booK "INHI HATHON SE"
  • 2008 - Eminent Hindi author Mannu Bhandari’s autobiography Ek Kahani Yah Bhi has been chosen for the prestigious Vyas Samman for 2008.

Lokamanya Tilak award
2010--Sheila Dixit ,Delhi CM

The award is bestowed every year on a person who has strived for the well-being and progress of society and the nation. previous recipients of this award included: Indira Gandhi (posthumous), Manmohan Singh, Atal Bihari Vajpayee, M.S. Swaminathan, Rahul Kumar Bajaj, Sivathanu Pillai, Montek Singh Ahluwalia, and Pranab Mukherjee.
Last year, the Lokmanya Tilak Journalist Award was given to N. Ram, Editor-in-Chief of The Hindu.


Blog Archive