Thursday, August 5, 2010

National Socialist Council of Nagaland-Isak-Muivah (NSCN-IM)
Naga National Council-Federal (NNCF)
National Council of Nagaland-Khaplang
People's Liberation Army(Manipur)
Kanglei Yawol Kanna Lup (KYKL)
Zomi Revolutionary Front


Ulfa logo.svg
FounderParesh Baruah
ChairmanArabinda Rajkhowa
Commander-in-ChiefParesh Baruah

The United Liberation Front of Asom was formed in April 1979 to establish a sovereign state of Assam through an armed struggle. In recent times the organisation has lost out its middle rung leaders after most of them were arrested.


Flag of the National Democratic Front of Bodoland
The National Democratic Front of Bodoland was formed in 1989 as the Bodo Security Force, aims to set up an autonomous region Bodoland.

Peoples Liberation Army

The Peoples Liberation Army is a leftist organisation formed in 1978 with the aim of liberating Manipur from India.


The United National Liberation Front was created in 1964 and demands an independent socialist state of Manipur.


Cadres of PrepakPeople's Revolutionary Party of Kangleipak is an armed insurgent group in Manipur demanding a separate and independent homeland. PREPAK was formed under the leadership of R. K. Tulachandra on October 9, 1977


The National Socialist Council of Nagaland was formed in 1980 to establish a Greater Nagaland, encompassing parts of Manipur, Nagaland, the north Cachar hills (Assam). The NSCN split in 1988 to form two groups namely NSCN(IM) & NSCN(K). As of now, both the groups are in ceasefire with the Indian government. However, they continue to be actively involved in illegal activities including extortion, kidnapping, inter-factional clashes, bootlegging and recruitment.

The [NSCN-IM] primarily consists of Tangkhul Nagas who are in a majority in parts of Nagaland and the hills of Manipur. Its influence inside Manipur is restricted to the four districts of Senapati, Ukhrul, Chandel and Tamenglong. The outfit has also established its presence inWokha, Phek, Zunebhoto, Kohima, parts of Mokokchung and Tuensang districts of Nagaland. It has also been able to extend its influence to the Naga-inhabited areas of North Cachar Hills and Karbi Anglong districts of Assam and some parts of Arunanchal Pradesh.


The National Socialist Council of Nagaland—Khaplang is the second faction with the same aim of a Greater Nagaland and was formed in 1988.

National Liberation Front of Tripura

The National Liberation Front of Tripura was formed in March 1989

All Tripura Tiger Force

The All Tripura Tiger Force was formed in 1990 with the sole aim of the expulsion of all Bengali speaking immigrants.


The Achik National Volunteer Council was formed in 1995 with the intentions of forming an Achik Land in the Garo Hills.


The Hynniewtrep National Liberation Council aims to free the state from Garo domination and was formed in 1992.

Hmar People's Convention-Democracy - HPC(D)

The People's Convention-Democracy was formed in 1995 to create an independent Hmar State. It is the offspring of the Hmar People's Convention(HPC), which entered into agreement with the Government of Mizoram which results in the formation of Sinlung Hills Development Council. However, of late, they have merged with other Hmar revolutionary groups in neighbouring Manipur and Assam with the aim of bringing the Hmars under one administrative unit.


The Bru National Liberation Front was formed in 1997 to protect the rights and dignity of the Reangs. The BNLF have surrendered with 757 of their comrades to the Mizoram Government on 21 October 2006.
Bodo Liberation Tigers Force (BLTF), also called Bodo Liberation Tigers (BLT), was an armed group operating in the Bodo dominated regions of Assam which demanded a separate state for the Bodos to be carved out of Assam. The organization came into being on June 18, 1996 under the leadership of Prem Singh Brahma.
The leaders of the BLT, together with the leaders of All Bodo Students' Union, formed a political party called BPPF.



Blog Archive