Monday, November 30, 2009

  1. The Australian Open is the first of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments held each year. 
  2. The French Open (French: Les Internationaux de France de Roland Garros or Tournoi de Roland-Garros) is a major tennis tournament held over two weeks between late May and early June in Paris, France, at the Stade Roland Garros. It is the second of the Grand Slam tournaments on the annual tennis calendar and the premier clay court tennis tournament in the world. Roland Garros is the only Grand Slam still held on clay and ends the spring clay court season.
  3. The Championships, Wimbledon, or simply Wimbledon, is the oldest tennis tournament in the world and is generally considered the most prestigious.It has been held at the All England Club in the London suburb of Wimbledon since 1877. It is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments, and the only one still played on the game's original surface, grass, which gave the game of lawn tennis its name.
  4. The US Open, formally the United States Open tennis championships, is a tennis tournament which is the modern incarnation of one of the oldest tennis championships in the world, with the U.S. National Championship, which for mens' singles was first contested in 1881. Since 1987, the US Open has been chronologically the fourth and final Grand Slam tennis tournament each year.
  5. All India Tennis Association, abbreviated as AITA, is the governing body of tennis in India. It has invested in the development of domestic tennis in India. It has produced talents like Sania Mirza, Karan Rastogi, and Rohan Bopanna.
  6. Tennis is a sport played between two players (singles) or between two teams of two players each (doubles). Each player uses a strung racquet to strike a hollow rubber ball covered with felt over a net into the opponent's court.The modern game of tennis originated in the United Kingdom in the late 19th century as "lawn tennis" which has heavy connections to various field/lawn games as well as to the ancient game of real tennis.
  7. Juan Martin del Potro upsets Roger Federer to take the 2009 US Open crown and become the tallest player ever to win a Grand Slam title.
  8. Roger Federer snatches 2009 Cincinnati Title beating Novak Djokovic in the final 6-1, 7-5.
  9. Roger Federer wins his 6th Wimbledon title at the 2009 Wimbledon Championships. 
  10. Svetlana Kuznetsova won her first French Open 2009  over Dinara Safina, which was her second slam title after the 2004 US Open.

Blog Archive