Thursday, March 1, 2012

Dr. Salim Ali National Wildlife Fellowship Award
In order to commemorate the memory of the great wildlife conservationist of the country, i.e., Dr. Salim Ali to inspire and promote, particularly the younger generation of wildlife managers and scientists for taking up research/experimental projects aimed at conservation of the rich wildlife heritage of this country, the Govt. of India, Ministry of Environment and Forests has decided to award the fellowship alternatively each year. Dr. Salim Ali National Wildlife Fellowship Award, 2011 for, Research/experimental project on avian wildlife is due for award. 

The fellowship will be awarded normally for a period of two years at the rate of Rs. 4000/-per month. In addition, an amount of Rs.18,000/- per annum will be paid for meeting the contingent expenditure. Only Indian citizens engaged in wildlife management/research are eligible. Preference would be given to the officials of the State/UT Forest and Wildlife Department.

Desert Ecology Fellowship
In September 1992, the Ministry of Environment & Forests provided a one-time endowment of Rupees 6 lakh to institute a Desert Ecology Fellowship at the University of Jodhpur in recognition of the Bishnoi community's contribution to nature conservation and to encourage studies in this field. The fellowship carries a monthly stipend of Rupees 3,500 and a contingency grant of Rupees 1,000 per month.

Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar
The Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar (IGPP) is awarded each year to Indian nationals or any Indian organisation for significant contributions in the field of environment, which are recognised as having a measurable impact on the protection/overall improvement of the environment. The award under the organisation category carries two cash prizes of Rupees Five lakh each, and under the individual category three prizes of Rupees Five lakh, Rupees Three lakh and Rupees Two lakh each.

E.K. Janaki Ammal National Award for Taxonomy
In order to promote excellent work in taxonomy and encourage young students and scholars to work in this field, the E.K. Janaki Ammal Award was instituted in the year 1999. Two awards, for outstanding work in Botanical and Zoological Taxanomy including work done in Micro-organisms are eligible for consideration under either of the two categories - E.K. Janaki Ammal National Award on Plant Taxonomy and E.K. Janaki Ammal National Award on Animal Taxonomy respectively.

Indira Priyadarshini Vriksha Mitra Awards
Indira Priyadarshini Vriksha Mitra Awards are given to individuals and institutions who have done pioneering and exemplary work in the field of afforestation and wasteland development. A cash award of Rupees Two lakh fifty thousand is presented to individuals/institutions in four catergories.

 'National Award for Prevention of Pollution' for 2010-2011
This award was instituted in 1992 and is given to 18 large scale industrial units and 5 small scale industrial units annually for meeting pollution prevention goals and taking substantial and consistent steps for environmental improvement. The award consists of a trophy, a citation and Rupees One lakh each.

Paryavaran Aur Van Mantralaya Vishisht Vaigyanik Puraskar
This award was instituted in 1991-92 as an incentive to Group 'A' Scientists of the Ministry and its associated formations. The award consists of a cash prize of Rupees 20,000 and is awarded to two scientists every year.

National Awards for Excellence in Forestry by ICFRE
National Awards for Excellence in Forestry are given to Indian nationals for original and outstanding work/research in the fields of forestry education, research and extension by the Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE). Four awards are presented under this category with each award carrying a sum of Rupees One lakh.

Medini Puraskar Yojana
This award is given to Indian authors each year to encourage original works in Hindi on environment and its related subjects such as wildlife, water resources and conservation. Four cash awards are presented under this category.

 'Rajiv Gandhi Environment Award for Clean Technology' 
This award is given to industrial units that make a significant contribution towards the development of new, or the innovative modification of existing, technologies or adoption and use of clean technologies and practices that substantially reduce or prevent environmental pollution. The award consist of a cash prize of Rupees Two lakh, trophy and citation.

Best ENVIS Centre Award
The Environmental Information System (ENVIS) is a decentralised nationwide network of 85 nodes integrated to collect, collate and disseminate information on the status of the country's environment. In order to encourage and recognise the achievements of these centres, a Best ENVIS Centre Award was instituted in 2004. This award is given once in every two years. A cash award of Rupees 50,000 is presented along with a certificate.

Rajiv Gandhi Wildlife Conservation Award
The Rajiv Gandhi Wildlife Conservation Award is given annually for significant contribution in the field of wildlife conservation which has made, or has the potential to make, a major impact on the protection and conservation of wildlife in the country. Two awards of Rupees One lakh are given to education and research institutions, organisations, forest and wildlife officers/research scholars or scientists/wildlife conservationists.

National Environmental Sciences Fellows Programme
This new programme will provide our most promising young scientists desirous of working in the forefront of environmental sciences, engineering and technology, the opportunity to do cutting-edge research on critical environmental issues in collaboration with leading institutes and scientists in India and the world. It will provide 10 young scientists under the age of 35 (age limit is extendable to 40 in exceptional cases), with a generous fellowship and institutional support to undertake this research. Each fellow would be attached to an institution which will sign an MoU with the Ministry. The selection of the fellows and the thrust areas for research will be done by a Management Committee headed by Dr. K Kasturirangan, Member, Planning Commission, and comprising of eminent scientists.
This programme will allow young Indian scientists to enhance their areas of expertise under the mentorship of the leading scientists in the world today, and will help create a cadre of top class Indian environmental scientists for the future. The knowledge emerging from the research work under this programme will help inform our environmental policy agenda, ensuring that it is based on rigorous science.

Source - MoEF

Blog Archive